Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Arkansas GOP Welcomes Three Democrat Crawford County Officials to the GOP

VAN BUREN, Ark — Republican Party of Arkansas Chairman Doyle Webb attended the Crawford County Republican Committee Meeting Tuesday night to welcome three Democrat county officials to the Republican Party. The move comes in the wake of a highly successful 2014 campaign cycle for the state GOP.

“It is a great time to be a Republican in Arkansas”, said Webb. “We are excited to welcome these outstanding public servants to become a part of the new majority party. This continuance of momentum from the past election cycle is indicative of the future of the party.”

Crawford County Republican Chairman Mark Schaffer stated, “The room was electric tonight. Anytime you get a chance to see Republicans taking office, or, in this case, Democrats becoming Republicans, it’s a celebration. Crawford County, like the rest of the state of Arkansas, continues to move in the Republican direction, and we are excited for 2016.”

Former Democrat officials announcing their intent to file as Republicans include County Clerk Teresa Armer (elected first in 2008), Circuit Clerk Sharon Blount-Baker (elected first in 2006), and Coroner Pam Wells (elected first in 2004). The candidates’ joining the GOP follows the Republican victories in 2014, including all seven Constitutional Offices, all six federal seats, and an increased majority in the state legislature.

Tags: Doyle Webb, Arkansas GOP, welcomes, three democrats, Crawford County officials, County Clerk, Circuit Clerk,, Coroners, To share or post to your site, click on "Post Link". This site is an Outreach of the ARRA News Service.

No comments: