Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Arkansas Congressional Freshmen Vote To Reject Raising The Debt Ceiling

By Peter Urban, Stephens Washington Bureau:
WASHINGTON — In what amounted to a symbolic vote of protest, House Republicans today passed a resolution opposing a $1.2 trillion increase in the federal debt limit.

Arkansas Reps. Tim Griffin, Rick Crawford and Steve Womack joined other House Republicans in voting for the resolution to reject President Barack Obama’s requested increase. Rep. Mike Ross, D-Prescott, voted against it.

The resolution, which was backed by 233 Republicans and six fiscally conservative Democrats, carries little weight since a bipartisan deal was struck last August that essentially allows Obama to raise the debt unless two-thirds of the House and Senate vote to disapprove.

Crawford, R-Jonesboro, said he voted for the resolution because he “disapproves” of raising the debt ceiling.

Griffin, R-Little Rock, said the vote was important because it sends a loud message to the president that he needs to do more to reduce the federal deficit. . . . Griffin said that his vote today should not be construed as advocating that the federal government not pay its obligations. Rather, he said, the Obama administration should return to the negotiating table to produce more long-term structural reforms.  “The question now is what has the president done since August to address the debt,” Griffin said. “I don’t think he’s done anything.”

. . . [Read More]

Tags: Arkansas, US Congressmen, Vote, debt ceiling, Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin, Steve Womack, Mike Ross

No comments: